Exam Results

Results 2017 - %

Cohort 139

% Prior Attainment High


% Prior Attainment Medium


% Prior Attainment Low


Attainment 8


 5+ A* to C Grades or equivalent 

(incl. En5+ & Ma5+)


 Baccalaureate %


Basics (E&M Threshold) (5/4) 


5+ A*-C grades or equivalent


 % A* to A


Understanding the new performance measures

Attainment 8: 

Attainment 8 measures a student's average grade across eight subjects. This measure is designed to encourage schools to offer a broad, well-balanced curriculum.

The eight subjects fit into three groups:

1.    English and Maths. 

2.    English Baccalaureate (Ebacc). These are the highest scores from the sciences, computer science, geography, history and languages.

3.    Open group. Any remaining GCSEs and other approved academic, arts or vocational qualifications. 

Progress 8:

Progress 8 measures schools not just on the results that pupils attain, but on how much progress they have made since they started secondary school when compared to other students with the same starting points. This measure only applies to students who completed Key Stage 2 examinations in Year 6 of Primary School.

English and Maths:

This year saw the introduction of the new 9-1 GCSE grading system in both English and maths. The government have stated that this year a Grade 4, which is roughly equivalent to a C grade is a pass and a Grade 5, which is equivalent to the top third of a B is a strong pass. From 2018, a grade 5 will be seen as a pass. From the Summer of 2018 9-1 grading will also be introduced for Ebacc subjects.

This year we were incredibly proud that we attained 2 grade 9s in English Literature and one grade 9 in maths.

DfE School Performance
Click here for the link to the Department for Education (DfE) school performance table. 

Key Stage 4 Dashboard
Please click on the image below to view Nightingale Academy's Key Stage 4 Data.

To view Nightingale Academy's school performance table, please click here.